A MikroTik router reset, hard reset, factory reset and configuration reset are all synonyms for resetting the device to its original defaults.
If you reset your MikroTik router, you’ll clear its configuration and return it to the original state it was in when you purchased it.
For example, if you forget a password to the MikroTik router, you might reset it to the factory settings so it returns to the default password it originally came with.
Below you will find a short instructions of how to reset your MikroTik router.
Cool Tip: Default MikroTik router IP, login & password! Read more →
Reset MikroTik Router
Most of the MikroTik devices are fitted with a reset button, labeled with
To reset the MikroTik router, do following:
- Unplug the device from its 🔌 power source
- Press and hold the
RESETbutton right after applying the ⚡ power
- Keep holding the
RESETbutton until 💡 LED starts flashing
- Release the
RESETbutton before the LED stops flashing
⚠ Warning: You must release the
RESET button before the LED stops flashing. Otherwise, instead of resetting the MikroTik router you will launch a Netinstall mode and its configuration won’t be cleared.
If you still have access to your MikroTik router and just want to reset it to the factory settings, then you can do this either through a command line interface or through a graphical user interface:
- Run the following command from the command line interface:
[admin@MikroTik] > /system reset-configuration - sample output - Dangerous! Reset anyway? [y/N]: y ← system configuration will be reset
- Do it from “System” → “Reset Configuration” menu in the graphical user interface
After resetting the router you can access it using the default IP, login & password.
Cool Tip: How to connect to a new MikroTik router for the first time! Read more →