HowTo : Change Locale (Language and Character Set) in Linux

Locales are used in Linux to define which language and character set (encoding) the user uses.

In this article I'll show you how to :

  • Check the Current Locale
  • Get the List of Available Locales
  • Add a New Locale
  • Change the Locale for Current Session
  • Change the Locale Permanently
  • Change the Default System's Locale

Current Locale

Get the information about the current locale environment :
$ locale

Locale is defined in the following format :
For example : Australian English using the UTF-8 encoding is en_AU.UTF-8

Available Locales

Look for available locales :
$ locale -a

Adding New Locale

If you didn't find the desired language or encoding, you can search for them in the list of all supported locales :
Generate a new locale by running locale-gen command. For example :
# locale-gen en_US.UTF-8
# locale-gen ru_RU.UTF-8
# locale-gen fr_FR ISO-8859-1

Now you could see it in the list of available locales.
$ locale -a

Change Locale for Current Session

Set the environment variable LANG, as shown in the examples, to change a language and encoding for the current session :

# Set English locale
$ LANG=en_US.utf8
# Set Russian locale
$ LANG=ru_RU.utf8
# Set France locale
$ LANG=fr_FR.iso-8859-15

Change Locale Permanently

Put the following line to bash profile (~/.bashrc or ~/.profile), to change user's locale permanently :

export LANG=en_US.utf8

Changes will take effect after logout/login.

Change Default System's Locale

Perform the following steps to permanently change system's locale.

Edit the file with default locales.

On Debian, Ubuntu, Linux Mint etc.:


On CentOS, RedHat etc.:


Change the LANG variable:


Changes will take effect after reboot.